The Dishonest Son and The ‘Ghost’ Doctor Mother – Chapter 81

The Pearl Fell Off

Someone from the palace came…

Wen Tian, Peng Ying and Mo Xian turned their heads together to stare at Ye Xiudu, who was already wearing a bland expression on his seat.

The latter stood up expressionlessly and nodded: “I know. It was already time for them to come. Shen Ying, you go and tell the mother and son to dine first.

After speaking, he turned around and walked towards the secret room, which was the place he would meet to discuss with those who came from the palace.

“…yes.” Shen Ying half-hanged his head as he deliberated about saying something else. To be honest, he wanted to tell the Lord that Miss Yu had already ordered the kitchen to prepare the meals and bring them to her room since she wants to have a meal with Nannan alone. And she had emphasized that there would only be her and Nannan, which means that she had never even considered waiting for him at all and neither had the intention of inviting or even sitting with the Lord to dine.

Even he could feel that her actions just now were planned.

Right, Yu Qingluo was indeed deliberate. Ever since she had to come to a compromise with Ye Xiudu’s request, she felt extremely upset every time she entered this place.

Fortunately, Nannan could still be considered a sensible child and the kid immediately rushed over holding two bags of silver for her when she came back, raising his face with a smile to please her: “Mother, this silver is for you.”

Yu Qingluo had just wanted to reach out to take it, but when considering that, she had just treated two patients with an infections disease. For the safety of her child, she took two steps back and then ordered someone to heat the water for her to bathe and change her clothes.

Nannan was taken aback, he carried the two bags, staring at her with pitiful eyes as if accusing her of not loving him anymore.

Yu Qingluo’s lips twitched, she could only point to her clothes and say: “I had just treated a patient, let me finish bathing and then I’ll hug you.”

As soon as Nannan heard that his feeling of loss was immediately swept away and he raised his head to say: “I’ll take a bath together with mother.”

“No. Just how old are you already, and you still want to shower together with your mother? Isn’t that a shameful thing to do?” Yu Qingluo gave him a look, after speaking that, the servant who was heating the water just happen to say that the bath was ready, so she immediately ignored Nannan and went back into the room.

Nannan was still carrying his two bags, following behind her with ‘humph’ sounds. But what a pity, his legs were short and he was too reluctant to let go of his money, so when he went to chase Yu Qingluo through the door, he saw that it was already closed in front of him.

The little kid sat down on the steps of the door, still clinging to his silver and not letting go of it. Hearing the sound of steps side to side inside of the room, he was immediately unwilling to be left out.

“Mother, where did you go today? Nannan has been waiting for you all day long. Let me tell you, Uncle Shen and Uncle Wen have tempted me with a lot of food, but I firmly refused. It’s all because I wanted to keep this money to give to you, mother. You always say I am not filial, and now you know of my painstaking efforts. I’m so obedient, cute and handsome. You have such a precious son, don’t you feel very proud?”

“Actually, there were times when I, myself, shed handsome tears alone. When I dream I’ll also awaken my handsome self. You have always said that I don’t sleep very well. That’s the reason, you see, mother you cannot wrong me later.”

“Oh, right. Mother, did you bring any delicious food for Nannan when you went out today? It’s not that I’m complaining, but every time you go out by yourself, you always eat everything yourself and always forget to bring me something. I’m different from you. Yesterday, I went out to eat with uncle Ye and I packed a lot of things for you, didn’t I? Although I don’t know whether there’s some of my salivae on that or not, I still think that my saliva should also be fragrant enough. So, mother, you won’t mind.”

” Pft..” the maidservants passing by couldn’t hold their laughter and, as they passed by, they covered their mouths to hide their smiles, passing silently as not to disturb him.

But Yu Qingluo, inside of the room, stroked her temples, feeling that this shameless kid was way too shameless. To blow his own horn in such a blatant way without even blushing a little, just who this he get this from?

As soon as Nannan saw someone approaching, his eyes were like an eagle’s, immediately looking onto those people’s figures until they had completely gone by, fearing that his money would be snatched away from him.

“Mother, I want to go out tomorrow. What do you think about making me new clothes? After all, I’m your precious son. If I wear good looking clothes when I go out, I’ll give you face, right? Or maybe you could buy me some jewellery, that’s ok too. I’m pretty good looking when I dress up a bit more.”

Yu Qingluo finally couldn’t take it anymore. While she was leaning against the tub and enjoying the warm water against her skin to remove the fatigue from the day, she cleared her throat and raised her voice: “Don’t worry, I have helped you bring all the clothes I bought you from Jiang Cheng, they are all pretty new. And as for jewellery, don’t even think about it. Just what does a boy need jewellery for? And after you use that money you got to buy something to eat, be careful so that you still can walk after eating all of that.”

Nannan was taken aback, standing up angrily: “Damn it! Mother, why did you bring my clothes here? I forgot them on purpose so that they could stay in Jiang Cheng forever. Being like this, you don’t understand your precious son’s thoughts at all, you really broke my heart now!”

Yu Qingluo snorted: “I have medicine here, wanna take some for that?”

“I won’t take it. You’re going to make me ill.”

“That would also be ok, then all the money I prepared for you to marry in the future will also be spent on you.”

Nannan blinked twice, then sat back down again after a while. Holding the bags in his arms and with a pount in his face, he said out loud: “I’ll heal myself, and I can also spend my own money to marry in the future.”

Yu Qingluo raised her eyebrows. She knew that all this little bastard thought of was his silver. As soon as she talks about it, he will become really anxious, just as if she owes him money.

Nannan pursed his lips, not wanting to talk to his mother anymore. He was sure that his mother had her mind on his money all day long, thinking about how to spend the money he was saving for himself. But fortunately, he was smart and made money by himself. And the night pearl he received today was also a real treasure and would earn him a lot of money.

He absolutely couldn’t let his mother know about any of this.

When Nannan thought of the night pearl, he couldn’t help but want to take it and touch it once again while mother wasn’t by his side.

But…

Left side, it wasn’t here!

Right side, wasn’t here too!!

Eh? Where’s his night pearl? What about his beautiful and extremely valuable night pearl?

Nannan stared, dumbfounded, then turned over all the bags he kept on his body but couldn’t find the one with the pearl.

The little guy’s forehead started getting coated with sweat and he almost took off his pants to search inside. But after looking everywhere, he still saw no signs of his pearl.

He dropped it. It certainly had fallen somewhere.

Nannan nodded, trying very hard to remember where had he been today. However, after he came out of the secret room he had been guarding his money, he hadn’t gone anywhere else.

Oh! The secret room!!

Nannan’s eyes lit up as he bent down to lift the bags from the ground, turned around and walked with strong steps towards the secret room.

Translated by C, The Apostle of Coffee
Edited by NoveLeo, Life is a Drama


Translator’s Notes


2 thoughts on “The Dishonest Son and The ‘Ghost’ Doctor Mother – Chapter 81

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started